We’re All Exhausted Right Now, and It’s Getting Worse

The pandemic and ongoing disasters are taking their toll on our workers, and managers are struggling too. Here’s what you can do.

Rose Bak
6 min readJan 26, 2022
Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

I was meeting with one of my staff this week and, as I usually do, I started the meeting by asking how the person was doing. They were brutally honest.

“I’m exhausted, but I can’t sleep. I’m maxed on vacation time, but I’m afraid to travel. I can’t fill my open positions, and when I do fill them, people get sick. Every time I think we’re coming out of this, a new variant pops up. Everything looks pretty damn bleak right now.”

It’s a hard time to be a manager right now. Managing hybrid workplaces, keeping frontline staff healthy, shifting pandemic restrictions, and filling vacant positions amid “The Great Resignation” is a challenge for even the most experienced manager.

The truth is, everyone is exhausted.

They’re calling it “COVID fatigue”. People who are normally cheerful and positive are snapping at people. Rates of depression, eating disorders, and abuse…

--

--

Rose Bak

Rose Bak is a freelance non-fiction writer as well as the author of more than 50 books. Find Rose's books at bit.ly/AuthorRoseBak .