What I Want for Christmas This Year: Nothing

No, I’m not kidding. I literally want nothing. I also want to do nothing.

Rose Bak
3 min readDec 13, 2021
Photo by kevin turcios on Unsplash

“What do you want for Christmas?” my sister asked me.

“Nothing,” I replied.

“No, really.”

I made a big decision last year. I am officially done with Christmas.

I’m done shopping. I’m done receiving gifts. I’m done wrapping presents. I’m done unwrapping presents. I’m done with the super awkward gift-giving events where we all watch each other open gifts and look for confirmation of whether the person likes the gift or not.

I. Am. Done.

I hate receiving gifts. I hate giving gifts on one specific day. I’d rather just see something someone likes and give it to them when I get it. I think a gift means more when it’s randomly shared on April 12th or July 9th or whatever day, instead of all the pressure to get THE PERFECT GIFT that can only be given on December 25th.

To me, gifts mean more when they’re not required.

The truth is, I’ve never particularly liked Christmas. When I was growing up, holidays were more horror than Hallmark.

As an adult, I’ve moved farther and farther away from any kind of regular Christmas…

--

--

Rose Bak

Rose Bak is a freelance non-fiction writer as well as the author of more than 50 books. Find Rose's books at bit.ly/AuthorRoseBak .